Friday, December 17, 2010

Australia Cricket Team

Australia Cricket Team
Australia Cricket Team Picture
Australia Cricket Team Group Photo
Australia Cricket Team Best Bowler
The Australian cricket team is the national men's cricket team of Australia. It is the joint oldest team in Test cricket, having played in the first Test match in 1877 (defeating England by 45 runs).
As of 20 January 2010, the Australian team has played 718 Test matches, winning 51.87%, losing 20.87% and drawing 26.98% of its games. It has a winning record against every other Test nation. The Australian national cricket team has also led the ICC Test Championship table for the majority of the time since the creation of the ICC Test table system in January 2001. The South Africans did lead this table for a brief period from January to May 2003, before Australia resumed the first position on the table. Australia has since dropped down to fifth in the Test rankings (as of 24 November 2010).
Australia have made six World Cup final appearances and have won the World Cup four times in total; 1987 Cricket World Cup, 1999 Cricket World Cup, 2003 Cricket World Cup & 2007 Cricket World Cup. Australia have also won the ICC Champions Trophy twice - in 2006 and in 2009 - making them the first and the only team to become back to back winners in the Champions Trophy tournaments. Australia also have been the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup champions in 1988, 2002 and 2010. Australia were runners-up in the ICC World Twenty20 in 2010 (which was won by England).
As of 28 April 2007 they are undefeated in 29 consecutive World Cup matches. They have led the ICC One-Day International Championship table from its inception through to 18 February 2007, and then again from 7 April 2007 until 30 January 2009.In 2002, they were named World Team of the Year at the Laureus World Sports Awards in recognition of their world record sequence of Test match victories.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive